Wednesday, September 28, 2005

Uhhh, what month is it?

JT and I went to Target this afternoon. After painfully tearing him away from the Lego isle, we looked at my favorite; the Halloween stuff. I about puked when we got to the "holiday" section. There was some cute Halloween stuff, but what caused my tummy churn was the x-mas lights and trees that were up. How sickening is our society when we have to start all that in September. I just bought JT's winter coat today and I felt like that was kinda early. Christmas is still 87 days away. Not that that isn't a worthwhile day to celebrate, but do we start putting frozen turkeys on sale in July? Or Egg dye on the shelves in December? Of course not. I am not a Christian, but am still deeply offended for them and how one of their most sacred days has become a commercialized materialistic frenzy. Shame on our society for allowing the "Christmas Spirit" to get so out of control!

Sunday, September 25, 2005

"Desperate Housewives" junkie

Not since "Melrose Place" have I been this into a show. My life can go on now that the new season started. {sigh of relief} I can't wait to see what happens with the new neighbor. Bri's mother-in-law is a real b****. Can't wait to see where that goes, especially when the creepy pharmacist comes back into the picture. What exaclty is Edie's role? I mean other than neighborhood tramp. Hopefully with the new season she'll have more of a story. I keep thinking about who's in the basement. Another son? The husband? The hand looked like a man's...Hmmm, so many questions...I know, in time they will be answered.

Wednesday, September 21, 2005

The "Sky"s the limit

As of next WNBA season, Chicago will have a home team, the Chicago Sky. I have been waiting for this since 1997 when the WNBA was first developed. I am so excited! Anyone willing to go in with me on season tickets, let me know. Let me be the first to say Go Sky!!!

Monday, September 19, 2005

Mmmmm Magic Shell

I love Magic Shell. If you've never heard of it, first let me say I'm so sorry you have led such a deprived life. Magic Shell is this amazing concoction made to top your ice cream. It's "magic" because as it cools, it hardens. So you have this crunchy chocolatey goodness on top of already creamy ice cream goodness. I have discovered that anything frozen can be covered with Magic Shell. My favorites: bananas, peanut butter on a spoon, just a cold spoon, and of course ice cream. I am afraid I am gaining weight here just talking about this stuff. {sigh} I have found my heaven.

Sunday, September 18, 2005

Welcome Hannah!



My friends LeAnn, David, and Skylar welcomed baby Hannah into their family on August 30th (also my good friend Donita's b-day). I finally got to see her this weekend. She was so tiny. I love babies. Except when they poop while I'm holding them. Newborn poop is the stinkiest. Anyway, she's beautiful, congratulations Nave family. Love you guys!

Saturday, September 17, 2005

Sorry guys.

I'm getting spam comments so I have to do word verification for posted comments now. It's a pain, but the spam is annoying and pictures of freaky guys is well, just freaky.

Friday, September 16, 2005

Grrrr part 2

Ok, I no longer hate my job- I loath my job. The kids, to some extent I can handle, some days are just worse than others. But the staff is a whole different story. One of the teachers that I work with is a complete dufus. He favors kids and it is very apparant to other kids. Which in this atmoshere is not good because they are all about what's fair. Like to day, "Mr Poopypants" (for obvious reason), was refusing to go to class and was just sitting in the cafeteria. He missed four classes because he was sleeping in the cafeteria. So when the rest of the kids came back to homeroom after lunch, he was playing games on the internet. One of the other students got really upset and wouldn't go into homeroom because of it. I couldn't really blame him for being upset, but at the same time, staff has to show a united front. I felt like I was siding with the enemy. The student had every right to be upset. This teacher can never get his name right and today when the student called him out on it he said something to the effect of, "I'm about to call you retard". Then that same student got in trouble with that same teacher for saying the word retard!! I travel from class to class with this group of boys, which means I spend all day with them. Technically, I am the individual assistant for one of them, but they are all ADHD and BD, so I kinda have to keep them all on task sometime during the day. Ealier this week, I was sitting in the cafeteria for 6th period with Mr Poopypants, which means I was obviously not with the student I am supposed to be assisting. So when school got out, and the kids left, I went back into the classroom and this same dufus teacher says to me "Can you monitor what (my student)is doing on-line, we found some pretty nasty websites he had tried to erase from the history log". Duh Stupid Ass! I just spent 50 minutes sitting in the cafeteria watching Stink boy sleep and you are gonna tell me I need to monitor a student that's in the same room as you?! He didn't ask where I had been, where Poopypants was, if I had been able to get Stinker to do any work. Just had to let me know what I missed in the his classroom. Wouldn't you think as the teacher he should be monitoring what all the kids are doing on the internet? Where's the professionalism?? Not at my job!

Sorry to vent again, but this bitch session was actually done by request. Thanks Leslie, I feel better now.

Tuesday, September 13, 2005

Grrrr

I hate my job. I am so tired of stupid bratty jr high kids with no respect for adults, trying to intimidate me. They are whiney immature little dweebs. They all just need a good crack on the rump and told to shut up. They do nothing all day but make fun of each other and the staff. Oh yeah and one of them craps in his pants and then will refuse to change , so the turds fall out of his pant leg (because he won't wear underwear) onto the floor. It is so disgusting. On the other hand, a few of the high school students are a little bit more respectful. At least some of them will rephrase their comments, omitting the foul words, if I ask them to. A few will even miss me when I leave, I am so ready to start my new job. Sorry I am not reflecting the ideals of the therapeutic day school that I work at, but right now I'm the one who needs some therapy - preferably in a strong liquid form. Anyone care to join me?

Monday, September 12, 2005

Ode to the litter box


Aren't they just the sweetest?

I have never really thought too much about my cats' bowels until we got this awesome cat box. We use this litter made from pine. It's these little wood pellets that absorb the urine and then turn into sawdust. I like this stuff because there's no smell and it's easy to scoop out the solids and flush them. The only problem is the cats track the saw dust and my bathroom floor starts to look like the floor of the woodshop class. A few weeks ago I went to the website for the litter to print out a rebate form and they had a special liter box. It sifts the sawdust out so just the pellets stay on the top. I am so in love!! There's no smell, like always, but now there's no sawdust, just a few pellets that get knocked out.



Nice clean litter box, all pellets.




Underneath, all the sawdust. In the box not on the floor.


{sigh} I'm such a happy cat owner.

Sunday, September 11, 2005

Happy Birthday JT!!


I can't believe it! My baby is 9 years old today! Time goes by so fast. I love you JT, happy birthday.

Friday, September 09, 2005

The God balance

Our faith (Unitarian Universalism)is all about your own personal search for truth or what you percieve to be truth, so we talk alot about different religions and what others believe and why they believe that, etc. I always ask JT questions when he says something about a god or heaven or just about anything religous based. So tonight we are driving home from St.Charles (about 25 miles away)and JT says "thank Goddess". In his mind it was God's wife that he was refering to. I didn't really get to far with that, but it sparked a different conversation into what God's job was. So without the boring detail JT's idea right now is this; there are two gods. The God of Life who is in charge of living and growing of lives. Helping plants and animals grow ans thrive and watching over people as they live in this life. The God of Death is reponsible for natural disasters (hurricanes, zunami, tornados, etc)and for helping the souls of the dead people and animals into their new bodies for their new lives (we believe in reincarnation). I like his idea of life and death rather than good and evil, I think in part this is his own rationalization of the last few very sad and almost unimaginable events taht have happened in our world. I am proud to have such an insightful, and intelligent son.

Thursday, September 08, 2005

Ha ha, just a funny

A couple had been debating the purchase of a new auto for weeks.
He wanted a new truck and she wanted a fast little sports-like car,
so she could zip through the traffic around town.

He would most likely have settled on any beat-up old truck . . but
everything she seemed to like was way out of their price range!

"Look!" she said, "I want something that goes from 0 to 200 in
4 seconds or less. My birthday is coming up, you could surpise
me."

For her birthday . . . he bought her a brand new bathroom scale!!!

Funeral Services are pending!

Wednesday, September 07, 2005

And so it begins...

So, my friend Megan has a blog that I visit every so often to see how she's doing. I know it would probably be just as easy to call or e-mail, but that would mean she would have to be free to talk or have time to respond. I also have friends that I should email to tell them what's going on with me, because it's always something new. I decided to do like Megan and created a blog of my own. It'll be fun. So come back, check up on me often. Send comments.